Unimpressed With The Hype

I swear, I think about this allllll the time.

Why is everyone so worried? Worried about fame, money, being better than the person next to them?

I won’t point any fingers, cause it’s hard for anyone to completely avoid what’s around us all the time. I mean, I get caught up thinking about buying things or making sure I look a certain way in a picture or something, just like anyone else. It’s inevitable. I’m guilty. So are you. But I still have a problem with it.

Really tho. Take a look around you for a second. The pictures people post. The cars and shoes they buy. The people they hang out with. All for this image and short-lived fame.

For people whose lives are centered around fame for their career, they aren’t who I’m talking about. I’m talking about the everyday people who crave for other people to tell them that their possessions are nice, that they look good, or that they’re doing something great. The whole announcement thing…for what?

Sharing accomplishments is one thing, but making sure people see your every move is a cry for help.

And what comes with getting caught up in the fame is a HUGE sense of pride. You don’t want to follow someone, because their follower count is too low. You wouldn’t wear that outfit twice, because everyone saw you wear it already. You don’t want to post this girl on your page, because of things you’ve heard. You can’t wait to put up a picture for someone to see in envy of you. You got your hands on something that not everyone can have, so you want the world to know they belong to you. You’d never hang out with that person, because they don’t dress the way you do, or look good enough to attract certain people. You only want to hang out with pretty girls, so you can get attention.. but never anyone who’s prettier than you, so you stand out still. You post your money, maybe not blatantly, but post what you “can” afford… I could go on for days.

Who the hell cares?! If we all just didn’t worry about looking a certain way to other people (strangers for the most part), or on social media, don’t you think it’d be a little easier to find what we want in friends, relationships, life? Don’t get me wrong, I like being able to find people who aren’t caught up in the hype. It’s nice to get a little sense of rarity for once. But I’m sure I speak for a lot of people when I say it’s ridiculously hard to find someone like that.

I don’t know what it is, but for me, since I cared so much about status and material things at one point in my life, I just see right through it now. Of course, it’s nice to have nice things. Realistically, I won’t not ever buy nice things for myself, or spend my money on certain things. But I just know that now, I don’t get as satisfied with it like I used to.

Status just isn’t as important to me. I don’t have pride when it comes to, well, life. I like the raw reality we live in. I like diving deep into people and experiencing who they really are. I like seeing things that make people, people. Maybe this is just me, but I really am just not impressed by the boasting characteristic that just eats at our generation.

If you’re ever ashamed of hanging out with someone, or looking a certain way, and it comes into conflict with the fact that that is someone you genuinely care about or something you genuinely like, the problem is you. Allowing your thoughts of image to direct your actions only sets you up for failure. This image you’re looking for is far from what will bring you true happiness at the end of the day. Fame and fortune will forever fall short.

By all means, if you worked hard for your money or your status, embrace it. I just find it admirable to see people who reach that point in their life and don’t allow any of that to define any part of their character.

Find that balance. We as human beings aren’t ever going to steer completely clear of buying nice things, doing things to make us look good, whatever. But have some depth. Don’t let that define you. To me, I would much rather be remembered for not only my accomplishments, but also for changing at least one person’s life in any way. My success, to me, is defined by things other than the hype. It’s okay to be different in that sense. Just remember to stay true regardless of the environment around you. Don’t get sucked in.

“Rather than love, than money, than fame, give me truth.” -Henry David Thoreau

-Keilani M Afalava

3 thoughts on “Unimpressed With The Hype

Leave a Reply

